September 24, 2022

Geez, it has been nearly 10 months since I updated this attempt at a personal blog. But that's okay. I am generally more inspired to write in the fall, with the heat and pressure of the summer thankfully behind me. It is, after all, Halloween season, which is my favorite time of the year. I love the Halloween aesthetic and vibes, although horror movies are not entirely my thing due to my hatred of jump scares. If the movie is older and slower-paced, or just campy, though, I'm all in. I haven't taken advantage of the Halloween season in a manner I would like to in recent years, though. I get busy at work and home, and the season just passes me by. This year, I'm trying to be more accountable and actually enjoy the Halloween season. This is the list of things I want to do, and I also want to hold myself accountable and blog a little bit about each of these undertakings:

-Watch 5 horror movies - I've got one down already. My next post will probably review the first two.
-Take my daughter to the pumpkin patch, as we have done every year
-Read at least a couple scary comics
-Take a trip to Party City/Spirit Halloween and check it out, even if I don't buy anything
-No guarantees on this one - but I'd like to create a Halloween mood table in my downstairs office

To many, these efforts don't seem particularly impressive - mundane, even. Well, even though I'd say I've improved my outlook on life over the past 12 months, being an adult and a parent is still time-consuming and difficult. You have to put in the effort to create joy for yourself, and that is what I am trying to get better at right now. We'll see how it goes.

November 28, 2021

Well, it is just after Thanksgiving 2021 and I feel like the holiday season is just beginning. I am watching Home Alone, enjoying central heating, and attempting to set up this blog. For the moment, all stress seems to have dissipated.